The Department of Economics, DAV PG College organized an Online Talk on ‘An Interactive Program for Carrier Opportunities in Economics’ on 25th September, 2021. It was delivered by Research Scholars from different institutions. Ms. Richa, Research Scholar Department of Humanities &Social Sciences IIT Roorkee, Mr. Prakash Das, Research Scholar, Department of Economics, Guwahati University & Ms. Mahima Kathuria, Research Scholar Department of Economics Central University of Haryana were the three speakers for the session. Dr. V.S. Singh welcomed the speakers and theparticipants. Dr. Anup Kumar Mishra introduced the theme of the topic.

The session began with the talk of Ms. Richa. She highlighted the vast career opportunities in the field of Economics like Business Analyst, Data Analyst, Financial Analyst etc. She also highlighted that one can make his or her career as teacher and can work in corporate sector. She also focused on skills required for an Economist like Mathematical aptitude, technical knowledge about SPSS, STATA & R. Mr. Prakash also added some important areas in which students can develop their careers. He focused on the opportunities available in the private sectors. According to Mr. Prakash different government organizations also recruit Economics graduate and post-graduate students. Lastly, Ms. Mahima highlighted the need for statistical tools, analytical skills, opportunities in Financial Journalism and Banking sector. The session was an interactive session with the audience. The audience raised different issues concerning the carrier development challenges which was addressed by the speakers. The program was presided by Dr. S.D. Singh, Principal, DAV P.G. College. Total of around 65 participants participated in the programme. Dr. Parul Jain gave concluding remarks regarding the career opportunities and motivated the students to do their best in life. Dr. P. K Sen & Dr. Mayank Kumar Singh also shared their thoughts on different career opportunities in Economics. The programme was anchored and coordinated by Dr. Siddharth Singh & Dr. Ahuti Singh extended vote of thanks.